Makeup Favourites of 2016

Here's the long awaited post of my makeup favourites of 2016. Sorry it took quite awhile for me to get this up as I was busy for the past few days but here we go! #dayrebeauty #SQmakeup #SQyearlyfavourites

@blog please improve the photo quality, it's getting from bad to worst. 🙄

Primer

#Innisfree No-Sebum Blur Primer

This is the only product which I've been using all year so I can't compare with other primers. But I got a #BanilaCo Matte Prime Primer a few months back which I can't wait to try it!

I only use matte primers because I've got really oily skin so dewy/glowy primers are not for me.

Foundation

#Laneige Pore Control BB Cushion (old)

No prizes for guessing because this is the only foundation which I've been using all year. I've mentioned it before in @sug4rbunnies:190916.

Most of the products in this post have been mentioned before too. 😂 But of course there are new additions from the past 3 or 4 months!

Concealer

• #Laneige Watery Cushion Concealer
• #theSAEM Cover Perfection Tip Concealer
• #ITCosmetics Bye Bye Redness Correcting Cream

One new addition which is the #ITCosmetics Bye Bye Redness Correcting Cream. I love it so much, it really conceals all my redness away. It can be worn as a foundation too. The only con is that it's a little expensive, it's retailing at $52 in Sephora for a small tub. But like the saying says, a little goes a long way.

Loose Powder

#Innisfree No-Sebum Mineral Powder

No surprises once again but I've been going to the loose powder more than the compact one recently.

Blusher

#elf ilikeweylie Face Palette

Both the blushes work super well for me! Love how natural it looks on my face and it's buildable. Don't really reach out for the highlighter because it doesn't give me the popz which I like.

Highlighter

• #Becca x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Collection Face Palette

Champagne pop has to be my favourite highlighter of the year. I bought the invidiual one before I purchased this palette. I must say this palette is kinda of disappointing, the only reason why I bought it is because for another $20+, you get another highlighter and 3 blushers. Prosecco pop is too gold and both rose spritz and pamplemousse are too pink for my liking. I only reach out for amaretto if I need my blusher to be more bomb.

Btw I'm selling the champagne pop highlighter for $40! Only used twice, condition 9.5/10. Let me know if you're interested! ☺

• #CLIO Kill Cover Pro Artist Liquid Highlighter

@gwendolynnlee and I mentioned about this product in @sug4rbunnies:071216. It's really good for a drugstore highlighter!

Bronzer

#benefit Hoola Bronzer

Ever since my #KATE slim create powder broke, I haven't bought any bronzer since then because I was more into highlighting. Picked this up in November because Sephora needed me to spend a minimum of $50 before I can get $10 off online during my birthday month.

This bronzer is suitable for all skin tones, you can build it up if you want it darker.

Brow

• #Skinfood Choco Eyebrow Powder Cake

This is my second #Skinfood eyebrow palette. I swear by it and it's only $5?! 😍 I used it to layer over my #ettusais eyebrow pencil or it can be used on its own too. I'm already hitting pan for this palette already but hooray for Althea, it's my life saviour.

• #Missha Pencil & Powder Dual Eyebrow

At the beginning of the year, I was using this the most because I only bought it in December 2015 during my Korea trip. I've used up the entire pencil, the reason why it's still sitting in my makeup box is because I can't bear to throw it away and there's still the powder form one left. I wanted to repurchase it but it's freaking $19 in Singapore? I got it for less than $10 in Korea. 😢

• #ettusais Coloring Eyebrow
• #ettusais Natural Powder Brow Liner
• #ettusais Pencil Brow Liner

These 3 were purchased together in Japan last June. I dyed my hair red before I flew to Japan and I didn't realize my then brow pencil was too dark for me until I was in Japan.

I was panicking so I went to the nearby drugstore to hunt for a red-brown brow pencil. Initially I only wanted the coloring eyebrow mascara to help lighten my brows but the natural powder brow liner caught my eye too. It's basically a brow powder in a tube form which is so cool.

The pencil brow liner was a last minute purchase because I needed ¥1000 more to be eligible for tax refund. No regrets seriouslly and it's currently my favourite brow product. 🙈

• #benefit Goof Proof Brow Pencil

It's everyone's favourite but it's definitely on the pricier side. I wouldn't have tried this if not for my girlies buying it for me during my birthday. Got to think twice before repurchasing this because it's $42 for an eyebrow pencil. 😥

Eyeshadow

#bhcosmetic Be… by Bubzbeauty

My one and only eyeshadow palette. I only started playing around with eyeshadows at the end of the year and I must say this is a good starter kit. Would love to add on more palettes to my collection this year. 😌

Eyeliner

• #Colourpop Creme Gel Liner in Mr. Bing

Bought this to try because I wanted a brown eyeliner and it's a collaboration with Kathleenlights. The brown is super pretty and wearable, the only con is that it breaks easily.

• #heroinemake Smooth Liquid Eyeliner

This eyeliner is da bomb. It doesn't smudge at all and it's one of my best buys from Japan.

Mascara

I have none this year because all the mascaras I tried either clumps or smudges. Any recommendations for a good mascara that doesn't clump and smudge?

✿✿✿

This pretty much concludes my best of 2016 makeup. They may have repeated from #SQholygrail @sug4rbunnies:190916 but these are the makeup that I can't live without for now. Lipstick and skincare favourites will be up soon.

Can't wait to try more makeup this year and do more beauty related posts! 🤗✨

Leave a comment