Planning for #SQ21 🎂

Hello December.

Can’t believe it’s December already? Where did all the time fly to 😱

Intern has long ended but I’m still lagging behind updates. Taiwan trip, summary of intern, 21st party etc.

Happened to click into MSB’s Instagram and I saw my cake. 😍

Had to crop away the flamingo topper because I felt that it was a little too kiddy for me (sorry Esther if you’re reading this). I actually wanted a full gold flamingo topper. 😅

Since we’re on the topic of my cake, might as well post about my 21st party HAHAHA.

Theme

I didn’t have any specific theme in mind, all I knew was that I wanted my party to be unique. I didn’t want a typical black/gold or pink/white theme (sorry if this offends any of you).

Themes I considered:

• Harry Potter
This was my first choice out of the three. But sadly not many of my family and friends are Potterheads and it’s not easy getting Hogwarts themed decorations. I actually bought the wax seal for my invitation card ➡️ @sug4rbunnies:010717 but never used it. Furthermore during this period of time, a few of my friends were having this theme for their 21st party.

• Onesie Party
Having a onesie party means that all your guests gotta turn up in one if not it’s not gonna fit the theme. It’s ridiculous if I made all my guests buy a onesie just to come to my party but neither can I afford to buy one for everyone. 💸

P.S./ I was supposed to have a onesie after party with my close friends who were staying over but I ran out of budget. 😂

• Tropical
I decided on this theme way before I started intern but it was only until 1/2 months before my birthday that I started sourcing for my things. I know many people had the same theme (esp on dayre) but by then it was too late for me to change my theme. I was so caught up with intern that I didn’t have time to think of another theme. 😩

So yup, I settled for the tropical theme!

Venue

As you can see from the invitation above, I held it at SO Sofitel Singapore. Reason being I had staff rate (yes I interned there) and I love the interior of the rooms.

I booked the biggest suite aka the SO VIP suite. No regrets seriously!! I managed to fit 40+ pax inside. 🌚 With the help of my manager and supervisors of course.

Decoration

I don’t have a photo of the decoration itself so here’s me with the decoration. 🙃

All of it are from #Taobao except for the floats which are from #Daiso. I reused most of the decoration for my room after the party.

Fairy Lights
💸: $7.32

Alphabet and Number Balloon
💸: $0.33 x 4

Balloon (100 pcs)
💸: $3.80

Leaf Decoration
💸: $0.71 x 5

Leaf Decoration
💸: $0.71 x 5

Leaf Decoration
💸: $1.32 x 5

Tablecloth
💸: $7.30

Tablecloth
💸: $10.12

Flamingo LED Light
💸: $2.41

Display Tray Set
💸: $23.29

Btw this is up for rental. Just drop me a message on telegram (same handle) if you’re interested! ☺️

Flamingo and Palm Tree Banner
💸: $1.74

Food

For catering, I chose Stamford as they had a takeaway buffet. Most hotels don’t allow catering with open flame so this was the best option for me. And I must say the food was pretty good as it was all wiped out. 😂 I didn’t even have a chance to eat! #dayrefatties can consider this for their hen’s night, birthday party etc.

Didn’t cater for 40 pax as most of my friends said they don’t need food but in the end I had to dabao stuff up from Lau Pa Sat.

💸: $304.95 (25 pax + $30 delivery)

Inserting a photo of my cake once again because it’s just too pretty. 😍

My cake is from My Sister Bakes! It’s a 7” by 4” two tier cake. For the top tier, I chose chocolate cookie butter and for the bottom tier, lychee rose.

It’s a litte pricey but this is probably the best investment I made for my party. All my guests loved the cake.

💸: $268

Close up of my cake.

Top Tier: Pastel pink finish, initial "SQ" written in gold at front of cake, cluster of 3d flowers on top tier with a flamingo paper topper.

Bottom Tier: Edible icing sheet of palm leaves, cluster of 3d flowers on top of bottom tier.

I got my cupcakes from Bake Avenue!

The flamingo cupcakes are $3.90 each while the pineapple cupcakes are $3.20 each. I got vanilla for both designs as I could only choose one flavour for every 20 cupcakes. Each 10 piece allows a design.

I felt that the cupcakes were too sweet for my liking, many of my guests said the same thing. 😢

💸: $71

I don’t have a photo of my macaroons but they’re from Cake & Co! It looks really similar to those in the photo above as this was the photo I sent to them for inspiration.

It’s $3/pc and I ordered 10 flamingoes and 10 pineapples. For the flavours, I chose earl grey, red velvet, matcha and vanilla.

💸: $60

Leave a comment